AllAllergy.Net
Advertisement
  Substance Info: (and synonyms)
Xanthan gum

Background Info:

From fermentation of a carbohydrate (e.g. dextrose from corn) with Xanthomonas campestris (a bacterium usually found on cabbage leaves). Does not change its viscosity at any temperature! Passes through digestive system unabsorbed and unmetabolized. Cannot be used for dehydrated foods intended for rehydration on ingestion.

In the U.S., there are 2 major suppliers of xanthan gum. One uses soy as the fermentation medium while the other uses wheat. Residual wheat gluten has been detected in the xanthan gum made on the wheat substrate. (Personal communication: Prof. Steve Taylor) Some caution in consumption of
xanthan gum is required where it is a direct ingredient. Xanthan has some indirect uses which may not provide high enough residues to be of much
concern.

Rice Crispies, Corn Flakes, jellies and certain sweets may contain xanthan gum.

 

Adverse Reactions:

IMMUNE REACTIONS


[ 1 / 1 ]

Nil.

Reference:
Reorganization process. Data in process of being reorganized. Editorial staff 2006




NON-IMMUNE REACTIONS


No Records


OCCUPATIONAL EXPOSURE


No Records

Background Info:

 

Adverse Reactions:


Information supplied from an abridged section of:
Allergy Advisor - Zing Solutions
http://allergyadvisor.com/index.html

© zingsolutions.com 2014

Allergy Advisor  - Food Additive and Preservative Allergy and Intolerance Database


Close